Google keeps the rights on your content when you stop using it


Service: Google
Status: approved
Changes: 2
Source: link
Author: import script


This license continues even if you stop using our Services (for example, for a business listing you have added to Google Maps). Some Services may offer you ways to access and remove content that has been provided to that Service. Also, in some of our Services, there are terms or settings that narrow the scope of our use of the content submitted in those Services.
The license that you grant to Google on content you upload to their services will continue even if you stop using the services. While this makes sense for some services (e.g. Google Maps) this applies by default to all Google services. Otherwise you need to check each service for ways to remove content and for specific clauses that restrict the license in time.


Comments:
On 2018-01-16 15:27:19 UTC, someone wrote:

imported from 2xvjZf1mgd0

On 2018-01-16 15:28:36 UTC, someone wrote:

https://groups.google.com/forum/#!msg/tosdr/2xvjZf1mgd0/xERopPZTKAQJ Google's copyright license may be limited for purpose, it is not
limited in time in general:

http://www.google.com/intl/en/policies/terms/

When you upload or otherwise submit content to our Services,
you give Google (and those we work with) a worldwide license
to […] such content. This license continues even if you stop
using our Services (for example, for a business listing you
have added to Google Maps). Some Services may offer you ways
to access and remove content that has been provided to that
Service. Also, in some of our Services, there are terms or
settings that narrow the scope of our use of the content
submitted in those Services. […]

For some services, as indicated, it might makes sense. But I doubt
that it really makes sense for all services. The fact that by
default Google's keeping the right to use your content even if you
stop using the service is a source of worries, especially wince
content can be used by other Google services you might not be
aware of.

I suppose the other way around would be more fair towards the
user.

So, how should we sum up this? I propose:

Google keeps the rights on your content when you stop using it

The license that you grant to Google on content you upload to
their services will continue even if you stop using the
services. While this makes sense for some services (e.g.
Google Maps) this applies by default to all Google services.
Otherwise you need to check each service for ways to remove
content and for specific clauses that restrict the license in
time.

topic: http://tosdr.org/topics.html#leave
score: -15

--
Hugo Roy, Project Lead
Terms of Service; Didn't Read | www.tosdr.org

--
tosdr.org | twitter.com/tosdr | github.com/tosdr
---
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Terms of Service; Didn't Read" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to tosdr+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To post to this group, send email to tosdr@googlegroups.com.
Visit this group at http://groups.google.com/group/tosdr?hl=en.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.

On 2018-10-07 14:49:26 UTC, Photon wrote:

approved:



We track editorial changes to analyses and updates to a point's status and display the previous versions here as part of an effort to promote transparency regarding our curation process.

Version 1: 2018-10-07 14:49:26 UTC by Photon

Previous Title: No changes recorded

Updated Title: No changes recorded

Previous Analysis: No changes recorded

Updated Analysis: No changes recorded

Previous Status: pending

Updated Status: approved

Version 2: 2018-08-30 13:16:48 UTC by import script

Previous Title: No changes recorded

Updated Title: No changes recorded

Previous Analysis: No changes recorded

Updated Analysis: No changes recorded

Previous Status: approved

Updated Status: pending