This service holds onto content that you've deleted


Service: Google
Status: APPROVED
Changes: 3
Source: link
Author: Dr_Jeff Staff


<p>If you remove from our services any content that’s covered by this license, then our systems will stop making that content publicly available in a reasonable amount of time. There are two exceptions:</p> <ul> <li>If you already shared your content with others before removing it. For example, if you shared a photo with a friend who then made a copy of it, or shared it again, then that photo may continue to appear in your friend’s Google Account even after you remove it from your Google Account.</li> <li>If you make your content available through other companies’ services, it’s possible that search engines, including Google Search, will continue to find and display your content as part of their search results.
Given the exceptions specified, plus the gigantic scope of the Google Search engine, there's plenty of reason to argue that content is, technically speaking, kept by them even after deletion.


Comments:
On 2021-01-06 08:30:32 UTC, Agnes de Lion Staff wrote:

I'm not sure about it, if you take measures to avoid sharing something with third parties, Google has no reason to find your data/content after deletion (according to this quote). I don't decline it though because it's up to debate and I would like to have other opinions on this.

On 2021-02-08 02:08:57 UTC, JustinBack Staff wrote:

APPROVED
No comment given



We track editorial changes to analyses and updates to a point's status and display the previous versions here as part of an effort to promote transparency regarding our curation process.

Version 1: 2021-02-08 02:08:57 UTC by JustinBack Staff

Previous Title: No changes recorded

Updated Title: No changes recorded

Previous Analysis: No changes recorded

Updated Analysis: No changes recorded

Previous Status: PENDING

Updated Status: APPROVED

Version 2: 2021-01-05 07:18:57 UTC by Dr_Jeff Staff

Previous Title: No changes recorded

Updated Title: No changes recorded

Previous Analysis: Generated through the annotate view

Updated Analysis: Given the exceptions specified, plus the gigantic scope of the Google Search engine, there's plenty of reason to argue that content is, technically speaking, kept by them even after deletion.

Previous Status: No changes recorded

Updated Status: No changes recorded

Version 3: 2021-01-05 07:15:19 UTC by Dr_Jeff Staff

Previous Title:

Updated Title: This service holds onto content that you've deleted

Previous Analysis:

Updated Analysis: Generated through the annotate view

Previous Status:

Updated Status: PENDING