They store data on you even if you did not interact with the service


Service: Google Chrome
Status: APPROVED
Changes: 3
Source: link
Author: Agnes de Lion Staff


On desktop versions of Chrome, signing into or out of any Google web service, like google.com, signs you into or out of Chrome.
Even if users didn't sign in to their Google Account for their desktop browser, the action of signing in to a Google managed account through the browser automatically connects Chrome to the user account. This connection leads to increased data gathering.


Comments:
On 2021-06-14 13:03:13 UTC, Agnes de Lion Staff wrote:

Users can opt out of this feature, but it's implemented by default.

On 2021-06-15 10:04:21 UTC, CyanoTex Curator wrote:

APPROVED
No comment given



We track editorial changes to analyses and updates to a point's status and display the previous versions here as part of an effort to promote transparency regarding our curation process.

Version 1: 2021-06-15 10:04:21 UTC by CyanoTex Curator

Previous Title: No changes recorded

Updated Title: No changes recorded

Previous Analysis: No changes recorded

Updated Analysis: No changes recorded

Previous Status: PENDING

Updated Status: APPROVED

Version 2: 2021-06-14 13:01:58 UTC by Agnes de Lion Staff

Previous Title: No changes recorded

Updated Title: No changes recorded

Previous Analysis: Generated through the annotate view

Updated Analysis: Even if users didn't sign in to their Google Account for their desktop browser, the action of signing in to a Google managed account through the browser automatically connects Chrome to the user account. This connection leads to increased data gathering.

Previous Status: No changes recorded

Updated Status: No changes recorded

Version 3: 2021-06-14 13:00:06 UTC by Agnes de Lion Staff

Previous Title:

Updated Title: They store data on you even if you did not interact with the service

Previous Analysis:

Updated Analysis: Generated through the annotate view

Previous Status:

Updated Status: PENDING